Barlow’s Blackened Catfish Recipe – Allrecipes.com

 

Great reviews on this recipe. I’m trying it out tonight but with several changes.  First, we are not big on hot spicy foods. Oh, and I don’t measure so this is how I season my food for cooking. First I salt the fish on both sides and do the same with the peppers but more sparingly with the peppers since I am working with two peppers of different heat. The salt I will do the same but a bit heavier in my case because I don’t have any lemon pepper. Lemon pepper if you check the label on the back for the lists of ingredients, the pepper is listed first then the salt being second. Main ingredients are listed first. The Italian dressing I will pour some in a bowl and brush on the blackened fish. Fish cooks quite quickly but these fillets I cooking are rather thick so I’ll probably start checking around 15-20 minutes or until it flakes easily with a fork or 145 degrees using an instant-read thermometer. You can also tell by the color if it is cooked. The fish should be opaque, not translucent like when it is raw. It should break apart easily when nudged with the fork. (OnlineGranny)

Turned out great but still a bit too hot for us.

Lawry’s Lemon Pepper ingredients; Black Pepper, Salt, Modified Food Starch, Citric Acid, Lemon Peel, Sugar, Garlic, Onion, Natural Flavor, Riboflavin (For Color).

A Cajun spice mixture transforms blackened catfish fillets into a baked Southern delight!

Source: Barlow’s Blackened Catfish Recipe – Allrecipes.com

Leave a Reply

